Please note: Some of the content on this page was published prior to the launch of Creative Australia and references the Australia Council. Read more.

Our people


Creative Australia is overseen by the Australia Council Board.

Its membership comprises a range of expertise across artistic practice, arts management, business, management, public policy, corporate governance and administration, regional issues, gender, multicultural and First Nations community participation in the arts, finance, philanthropy, legal affairs, corporate strategy and research.

The Board has a maximum of twelve members, including the Chief Executive Officer who is an Executive (Ex-Officio) member of the Board.

Terms of appointment are generally three years. Members are eligible for re-appointment; however, appointments are limited to a total of nine years. The Minister for the Arts appoints the Board.

Current Board members are:

Click on the ‘+’ to read the bios.

Also on the board:

  • Caroline Bowditch
  • Amanda Jackes

The following committees and panels provide specialist advisory services and recommendations to the Board and management for consideration and approval:

  • Audit and Risk Committee
    • The Audit and Risk Committee oversees and reviews the Australia Council’s corporate governance obligations in relation to external accountability, financial reporting, internal controls, risk management, internal and external audit activities, and legal and financial compliance. The committee also monitors the Australia Council’s overall financial position, budget preparation and any other significant financial issues as they arise. The Committee’s authority and charter are outlined in its Terms of Reference.
  • Nominations and Appointments Committee
    • The Nominations and Appointments Committee facilitates and oversees a streamlined nominations process, through which the Council recommends members to its panels and committees. The committee ensures the effective use of peers for our peer assessment process and assists the Board on governance matters, advising as required. It has an advisory role and is not delegated to act on the Board’s behalf.
  • First Nations Arts Strategy Panel
  • Multi-Year Investment Finance and Governance Advisory Panel
    • The Panel monitors and provides advice on the financial and governance performance of all multi-year investment organisations, including the National Performing Arts Partnership Framework in partnership with state and territory governments (Partnership Organisations), and the Four Year Funding program.

Creative Australia welcomes the appointment of Ms Rosheen Garnon as Deputy Chair for a period of three years.

Ms Garnon has over thirty years experience in the field of taxation, having been a senior partner at KPMG Australia. She was admitted as a Tax Partner in 2000 and held senior executive roles within KPMG. She was recently appointed as the Chair of the Board of Taxation, an Independent Advisory Board, that advises the Federal Treasurer and Assistant Treasurer on the taxation system.

Ms Garnon has served as a Director of Creative Partnerships Australia since 2013, and has been a member of the Australia Council’s Major Performing Arts Panel since 2017. She currently services on the National Partnership Framework Finance and Governance committee.

She also holds directorships with Women Corporate Directors Australia Limited, Australian Rail Track Corporation, Resolution Life Australia, The Smith Family, and is Chair and Non-Executive Director of Alexium International Group Limited.

Creative Australia acknowledges the significant contribution of Christine Simpson Stokes AM, who has been acting Deputy Chair since May 2021 and will continue as Board member.

Appointments to the Australia Council Board are made by the the Minister for the Arts in accordance with the Australia Council Act 2013.

The Executive Team

Adrian Collette AM
Chief Executive Officer

Tim Blackwell
Executive Director, Corporate Resources
Franchesca Cubillo
Executive Director, First Nations Arts and Culture
Alice Nash
Executive Director, Arts Investment
Georgie McClean
Executive Director, Development and Partnerships

View the Creative Australia’s functional chart