Please note: Some of the content on this page was published prior to the launch of Creative Australia and references the Australia Council. Read more.

Prime Minister’s Literary Awards

Entries across six literary categories are now open for works published in the 2022 calendar year. For questions, or more information, please visit

About the awards

The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards celebrate outstanding literary talent in Australia and the valuable contribution Australian writing makes to the nation’s cultural and intellectual life.

Each year, we call for entries for books of high literary merit, and in the case of the Prize for Australian History, scholarly accomplishment.

Awards are presented in six categories:

  1. fiction
  2. non-fiction
  3. young adult literature
  4. children’s literature
  5. poetry
  6. Australian history.

Up to $100,000 is awarded in each category: $80,000 for each winner and $5,000 each for shortlisted entries. All prizes are tax-free.

See the judges and previous winners here.

Who can enter

  • Entries are sought each year for books published in the previous calendar year, with high literary merit, and in the case of the prize for Australian history, scholarly accomplishment.
  • You must be a citizen or permanent resident of Australia to enter the Awards.
  • Non-book entries to the Australian history prize must be made by a registered Australian company.
  • A book must be professionally edited and digital books will be accepted only if they are also available in printed (bound) form.

Download the 2023 entry guidelines below.