Please note: Some of the content on this page was published prior to the launch of Creative Australia and references the Australia Council. Read more.
Media Releases


The Australia Council for the Arts has formed a National Indigenous Arts Reference Group to provide cultural insight and expert advice for the development and implementation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander arts programs.

The reference group, which will hold its inaugural meeting in Sydney on 18 and 19 June, comprises 24 members who are some of Australia’s most influential and well-respected Indigenous arts practitioners.

Australia Council Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Arts (ATSIA) Board chair Dr Chris Sarra said the reference group’s membership would ensure arts community input to Australia Council strategy development and planning was significant and accessible.

‘By drawing on the expertise of community and industry representatives in matters of cultural and artistic significance, this formal mechanism for consultation with the arts community will help guide and inform the future direction of Indigenous arts policy,’ Dr Sarra said.

The National Indigenous Arts Reference Group members include:

Solicitor and Indigenous intellectual property law specialist Robynne Quiggin

  • Actor, dancer and educator Tessa Rose
  • Actor, co-founder and artistic director of Ilbijerri Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Theatre Company Kylie Belling
  • Cultural awareness expert and trainer Lydia George
  • Performer and broadcaster Mark Bin Baker
  • Visual artist Lisa Michl
  • Broadcaster, songwriter and chairman of Abmusic Fred Gesha.

The National Indigenous Arts Reference Group was formed following an expression of interest process, which called for nominations from arts workers, practicing artists and leaders in arts-related fields.



Brianna Roberts


(02) 9215 9030


No downloadable contents available

You might also like