Please note: Some of the content on this page was published prior to the launch of Creative Australia and references the Australia Council. Read more.
Media Releases

Entries open for the 2023 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards

The Australian Government is celebrating outstanding Australian literary talent with the 2023 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards. 

Entries across six literary categories are now open for works published in the 2022 calendar year. Entries close on 25 July 2023.  

Outstanding literary works in fiction, poetry, non-fiction, Australian history, children’s literature, and young adult literature will share in the prize pool of $600,000. 

The Prime Minister, Anthony Albanese, said the Awards provide a chance to celebrate some of our greatest, current literary talent. 

“Our creative sector is central to Australia’s soul and national identity – these awards recognise the significant contribution creators of the written word and illustrators make to the cultural life of Australia,” Prime Minister Albanese said.  

“Each year we hope to see a diverse pool of entries which captures the wide range of voices in Australian literature. I encourage anyone who is eligible, to submit their work to be considered by the independent judging panel for this prize.” 

Minister for the Arts, Tony Burke, said Australia’s National Cultural Policy, Revive, revitalises support for Australian writers.  

“Australia’s best writers make us laugh, cry, learn and escape – even if it’s just for a moment. They let us see our lives reflected on pages and in stories about the places we live,” Minister Burke said.  

“The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards celebrate the vast contribution literature, history, and poetry make to amplifying Australian stories.  

“I’m also excited for the emergence of more Australian writing and writers with the coming establishment of Writer’s Australia, which will provide direct support to the literature sector.” 

Australia Council for the Arts CEO Adrian Collette AM said these awards recognise some of the finest authors in Australia today. 

“This country has produced some of the world’s great authors, poets, and scholars. At the Australia Council we are proud to produce the awards for the first time and excited to see this year’s entries.” 

For more information about the Awards and entry guidelines, visit: PM’s Literary Awards | Office for the Arts 

Media enquiries:
Sean Brogan
Media Manager
Australia Council for the Arts