Please note: Some of the content on this page was published prior to the launch of Creative Australia and references the Australia Council. Read more.
Media Releases

International Arts Leaders unite for Australian arts leadership program

The Australia Council for the Arts has announced the latest participants in its International Leadership Program, delivered in partnership with the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT).

Emerging leaders from countries including China, Indonesia, India, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Vietnam and Malaysia will participate in the Australia Council’s two flagship leadership programs, promoting a global exchange of knowledge, ideas and cultural practice.

The Australia Council is pleased to be continuing the partnership with DFAT following a successful pilot in 2017. The program is an example of a successful cross-portfolio partnership that delivers positive outcomes both for the arts and Australia’s broader ambitions.

Australia Council Director of Capacity Building, Kevin du Preez said, “The inclusion of international arts leaders in our leadership programs provides a valuable opportunity for Australia’s arts leaders to learn from, and build understanding with, our regional neighbours.”

“Arts and culture are among the most powerful contributors to Australia’s reputation in the world. They help build sustainable partnerships and cross cultural understanding, sharing knowledge and creative excellence with our neighbours for mutual benefit.”

International Arts Leaders Program

E-Jan Tan (MALAYSIA) Founder/ Creative Producer, Toccata Studio

Reena Dewan (INDIA) Vice-President, Kolkata Centre for Creativity

Tang Zehui (CHINA) Independent Curator/ Writer

Mayambo Peipul (PAPUA NEW GUINEA) Vice-President, Moresby Arts Theatre

Eliza Vitri Handayani (INDONESIA) Writer/ Director, InterSastra

International Future Leaders Program

Lubna Shaheen (INDIA) Programme Director, Ziro Festival of Music

Hung Duong (VIETNAM) Founder, Cultural Community Discourse

Le My Cuong (VIETNAM) Independent filmmaker and broadcaster

Franchesca Casauay (PHILIPPINES) Independent creative producer

Chong Wang (CHINA) Founder/ Artistic Director, Théâtre du Rêve Expérimental

More information on the recipients can be found on the Australia Council website.

Read their biographies   Image



Brianna Roberts


(02) 9215 9030

You might also like