Please note: Some of the content on this page was published prior to the launch of Creative Australia and references the Australia Council. Read more.
Media Releases

Advisory Group to support strong Circus and Physical Theatre sector


A newly formed Circus and Physical Theatre Advisory Group will meet for the first time today, aiming to strengthen the Victorian and Australian national circus and physical theatre industry.

Comprising a diverse group of leaders from across Australia’s circus and physical theatre industry, the Advisory Group will provide expertise and advice on initiatives to support local talent and careers, and ensure the sustainability, vibrancy and success of the sector.

The Advisory Group was established by the Australia Council and Creative Victoria to provide expertise and strategic advice to support the development and implementation of the Victorian Circus & Physical Theatre Strategy 2022-24.

The Australia Council and Creative Victoria are committed to delivering a range of strategic investment programs as part of the strategy, which is being developed in response to significant changes to the circus landscape in Victoria during 2021.

Australia Council Head of Theatre Annette Madden said:

“The Circus and Physical Theatre Advisory Group will play a key role in setting the strategic agenda for a strong and thriving circus and physical theatre sector in Victoria, and nationally. We are committed to working with Creative Victoria, under the National Performing Arts Partnership Framework, to implement strategic support to this vibrant sector, and facilitate sustainable pathways into the future.”

The Advisory Group consists of members with diverse skills from the national circus and physical theatre sector, including:

  • Harley Mann (VIC)
  • Mitch Jones (VIC)
  • Debra Batton (VIC)
  • Stephanie Cox (VIC)
  • Janice Florence (VIC)
  • Joshua Hoare (SA)
  • Simon Hinton (NSW)
  • Kate Fell (NT)
  • Chelsea McGuffin (QLD)
  • Natano Fa’anana (QLD)
  • Zebastian Hunter (UAE)

The Advisory Group will be co-chaired by Annette Madden, Head of Theatre, Australia Council and Sam Strong, Executive Director – Creative Industries, Creative Victoria.



Brianna Roberts


(02) 9215 9030