Please note: Some of the content on this page was published prior to the launch of Creative Australia and references the Australia Council. Read more.
Media Releases


World-renowned contemporary sculpture exhibition Den Haag Sculptuur/The Hague Sculpture this year celebrates its 10th anniversary with De Overkant/Down Under – a special jubilee exhibition of contemporary Australian sculpture and art in the public space.

De Overkant/Down Under features contemporary art from Australia and the Netherlands to commemorate the more than 400 years of friendly bilateral relations between the two countries.

Twenty-eight leading Australian contemporary artists are taking part in the two-month event, which Her Majesty Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands will officially open on 15 June.

In keeping with the event theme, Australian rock band The Histrionics will perform at an after party at The Hague’s renowned entertainment venue, Paard van Troje.

The exhibition, which converts the picturesque historical city centre of The Hague into an open-air museum, is one of the main events on the Dutch cultural calendar.

The Australia Council for the Arts, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade and Tourism Australia are joint supporters of Australia’s presence at the event.

Australia Council chief executive officer Kathy Keele said: ‘The big contingent of Australian artists at Den Haag Sculptuur is testament to the excellence and diversity of Australian contemporary art.

‘With Australia’s biggest ever presence in Venice and at other contemporary art events in Germany and elsewhere, it really is the summer of Australian art in Europe this year,’ Kathy Keele said.

The Australian artists in Den Haag Sculptuur include Brook Andrew; James Angus; Robyn Backen; Jon Campbell; Mikala Dwyer; Shaun Gladwell; Richard Goodwin; Fiona Hall; Peter Hennessey; Bill Henson; Danius Kesminas/The Histrionics; John Kelly; Natasha Johns Messenger; Robert MacPherson; Tracey Moffatt; Callum Morton; Noel McKenna; Ron Mueck; Patricia Piccinini; Patrick Freddy Puruntatameri & Pius; Tipungwuti; Lisa Roet; Daniel von Sturmer; Ricky Swallow; Louise Weaver; Guan Wei; Anne Zahalka; and Ah Xian.

Media enquiries

Victoria McClelland

Tel 0409 223 719



Brianna Roberts


(02) 9215 9030


No downloadable contents available

You might also like