Please note: Some of the content on this page was published prior to the launch of Creative Australia and references the Australia Council. Read more.
Media Releases

Welcoming Creative Workplaces Council appointments

Adrian Collette AM, Chief Executive Officer of soon to be Creative Australia, has warmly welcomed the appointments announced today by the Hon Tony Burke MP, Minister for the Arts, to the Creative Workplaces Council. These appointments take effect on Thursday 24 August 2023. 

The appointments are: 

  • Kate Jenkins AO, former Sex Discrimination Commissioner (Chairperson)
  • Tina Lavranos, Executive Director at DarkLab
  • Michel Hryce, Director of People and Culture at Michael Cassel Group
  • Tony Ayres, Writer, Director, and Producer
  • Ruth Hazleton, Singer, Musician, and Songwriter
  • Fiona Donovan, Production Designer
  • Bjorn Stewart, Actor, Writer, and Director, a Kuku Yalanji/Wemba Wemba man

Adrian Collette AM, Chief Executive Officer said: “Creative industries are powered by creative workers, and Creative Workplaces will promote fair, safe, and respectful workplaces for Australian artists and arts workers.” 

Creative workers play a crucial role in the quality of life of all Australians.  From listening to music to attending arts and cultural events, almost every Australian engages with arts and culture, and recognises the positive impacts of arts and creativity on our lives and communities.  

“It is essential that we support our creative workers. Creative Workplaces will promote best practice in raising standards so that artists and arts workers are treated fairly, equitability, and with the same level of respect, as all other Australian workers. 

“I look forward to working with the Council led by Kate Jenkins, whose deep experience and knowledge will be invaluable as we establish Creative Workplaces,” said Mr. Collette.

Find out more about Creative Workplaces.

Media enquiries:
Sean Brogan
Media Manager
Australia Council for the Arts
Phone: (02) 9215 9030
Mobile: 0498 123 541