Please note: Some of the content on this page was published prior to the launch of Creative Australia and references the Australia Council. Read more.

Australia Council Congratulates The Winners Of The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards

Dec 09, 2014

Australia Council congratulates the winners of the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards

The Australia Council congratulates all the winners of this year’s Prime Minister’s Literary Awards announced in Melbourne on Monday, 8 December.

These prestigious awards recognise the achievements of Australian writers in six categories: fiction, non-fiction, history, poetry, children’s and young adult fiction.

Australia Council Chief Executive Officer Tony Grybowski said he was delighted to see Australian writers and their work celebrated in this way, and proud that the Council had supported a number of these talented authors to write and publish.

“Joint fiction winners Richard Flanagan and Steven Carroll have received a number of literature grants from the Council, including support for translating Richard’s books into several languages and awarding the 2012 Australia Council Literature Fellowship to Steven.

“Australia Council grants have also supported the publication of the other prize-winning books by Gabrielle Carey, Helen Trinca, Joan Beaumont and Felicity Castagna.”

To see the full list of nominees and winners, go to: